Skip to main content


Showing posts from October 8, 2011

Q. Is the President empowered to make Regulations with respect to administration of Union Territories?

Ans. At present, there are seven
Union Territories—
1. Delhi, 2.  Chandigarh, 3. Andaman and  -Nicobar Islands. 4. Lakshadweep,
5. Daman Diu, 6. Pondicherry, 7.  Dadra and Nagar Haveli.
According to the provisions of Article 240 of the Constitution, the President has power to  make regulations with respect to the administration of the following Union Territories—
1. Andaman and Nicobar Islands
2. Lakshadweep
3. Dadra and Nagar Haveli
4. Daman and Diu
5. Pondicherry
However, the President can make these  regulations for the peace and better administration of these Union Territories. Again, the power of the President to make regulations with respect to Union Territories of Pondicherry, and Daman and Diu shall not be exercised during the functioning of Legislatures in these Union Territories. As and when the Legislature is dissolved in these Union Territories, the President can exercise his power of making such regulations.