Skip to main content


Showing posts from October 7, 2011

Q. What are the posts of Chief Commissioner, Lt. Governor and Administrator?

Ans. Under the provisions of the Constitution, the administration of Union Territories is carried on by the administrators appointed by the President. The administrators of different Union Territories have been given different designations. For example, the administrators of Delhi, Pondicherry and Andman and Nicobar Islands are called Lt. Governors, whereas in other Union Territories, they are called simply ‘Administrators’ except in Chandigarh where it is called ‘Chief Commission er’. A Governor of a State may also be given charge of office of a administrator of a Union Territory.