Skip to main content


Showing posts from March 11, 2010

Current General Knowledge: January 2010

NKN: National Knowledge Network

Jeevan Raksha Padaks, 2010
Sarvottam Jeevan Raksha Padak: Braveheart Rukhsana Kauser and Delhi’s Narender Kaushik (posthumously) have been selected for Sarvottam Jeevan Raksha Padak for their conspicuous courage in saving life under circumstances of very great danger to the life of the rescuer.

Rukhsana, 22, had killed a top Pakistani militant and injured another at Kalsian village in Rajouri district on the night of September 27 2009.

Uttam Jeevan Raksha Padak: The winners include Syed Areef Sujauddin from Andhra Pradesh, Umman Antony from Kerala, Rajan Kamble from Maharashtra (all posthumously), besides Karanbir Singh Kang from Maharashtra and Prachi Santosh Sen from Madhya Pradesh.

Kang, who lost his wife and two children in the 26\11 Mumbai attacks, had rescued many from Taj hotel and never dithered from doing his duty.

Jeevan Raksha Padak series of awards are meant for meritorious act of humane nature in saving the life of a person…

Current General Knowledge: December 2009

Solar-powered aircraft  to create flight history
History is being created inside a hangar at Dubendorf Air Base (Switzerland) that will radically change the way an aircraft flies. The prototype of an aircraft, to be propelled entirely by solar power even at night, has already been successfully tested for a ‘flea hop’ or a short flight at this airbase.

Scientists and engineers are working full-steam to fly the aircraft around the world for 36 hours through day and night in the spring or summer of 2010.

Indian engineers and students have also shown a keen interest in being part of this historic feat but are yet to become part of the 70-member team which is working on making the project a reality.

The aircraft, bearing call sign HB-SIA, has a weight of only 1,600 kg but has a wingspan of 63 metre, length of 21.85 metre and 6.4 metre height. Its weight can be compared to a family car and the engine power to a scooter’s. It generates power from 11,628 photovoltaic solar cells sp…

Current General Knowledge: November 2009

MFSS: Mutual Fund Service System

Kalinga Prize, 2009
Professor Yash Pal of India has been awarded UNESCO's annual Kalinga Prize for the Popularization of Science, jointly with Trinh Xuan Thuan of Vietnam.
Prof Pal was recognized for his participation in many Indian television programs that deal with popular science, including Turning Point and Science is everywhere. He also helped establish the Inter-University Centre for Astronomy and Astrophysics in Pune and the Centre for Educational Communication in Ahmedabad.

Established in 1951, the Kalinga rewards honour a person who has helped interpret science, research and technology for the general public.

Sahara Indian Sports Awards, 2009
Abhinav Bindra and Saina Nehwal have been adjudged Best Sportsman and Best Sportswoman of the year, respectively. Saina also won the Best Young Achiever award in the female category, with tennis ace Yuki Bhambri taking the honours in the male category.

The other winners were P.…

Current General Knowledge: October 2009

EAS: East Asia Summit.
GRBA: Ganga River Basin Authority.
LCROSS: Lunar Crater Observation and Sensing Satellite.

Nobel Prizes 2009
For Peace: In a decision that caused worldwide jaw-drops, the Nobel Committee awarded the Peace Prize to US President Barack Obama, citing his work in nuclear weapons elimination and international diplomacy. Critics immediately said the award appeared based more on hope than lasting achievement typical for nominees. But the Nobel committee statement read, ‘‘Obama has as President created a new climate in international politics,’’ although it evidently took into account his work in the months since he took office and perhaps even his exertions as Senator and Presidential candidate.

For Literature: Romanian-born German writer Herta Mueller for work that “with the concentration of poetry and the frankness of prose, depicts the landscape of the dispossessed”. Mueller is the 12th woman to win the Nobel Prize in literature. Recent female winners …