Skip to main content

Sports Affairs 2009

Sports Affairs 2009

Shooting champion of India, Samresh Jung is known as ‘Gold finger’.
Heinrich Haussler won Tour de France 2009 tournament.
Ranji Trophy celebrated Platinum Jubilee after completing 75 years in 2009. Ranji trophy will also be started in Ireland.
38th Ranji Trophy was won by Mumbai defeating UP in Jan 2009.
Pullela Gopichand (Badminton champion) is the only person to have been awarded with Arjuna award, Dronacharya award and Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award.
Binish K Shahji of India won silver medal in World School Athletics in Estonia held in June 2009.
Wimbledon 2009
  • Men’s Single – Roger Federer defeated Andy Roddick. Federer break the record of Pete Sampras record of 14 grand slams.
  • Women’s Single – Serena William defeated Venus William. She claimed third Wimbledon title.
  • Women’s doubles –Serena and Venus William defeated Rennae Stubbs and Samantha Stosur.
  • Mixed Doubles- Mark Knowles and Anna Lena Groenefeld defeated Laender Paes(India) and Cara Black.
  • Men’s Doubles- Danial Nestor & Nened Jimonjic defeated Bob Bryan & Mike Bryan.
French Open 2009
  • Men’s single – Roger Federer defeated Robin Soderling.
  • Men’s double – Laender Paes and Lukas Dlouhy defeated Wesley Moodie and Dick Norman.
  • Women’s single – Svetlana Kuzenletsova defeated Dinara Safina.
Australian Open 2009
  • Mixed Double - Mahesh Bhupati and Sania Mirza defeated Nathalic Dechy and Andy Ram. Sania Mirza became the first Indian women to won a Grand slam title.
  • Men’s singles- Rafael Nadal defeated Roger Federer. He became the first Spaniard to won the title.
  • Women’s singles- Serena William defeated Dinara Safina.
  • India’s Yuki Bhambri won Junior Australian Open Single title 2009 defeating A F Georgoudes.
US Open 2009
  • Women’s singles – Kim Clijsters(Belgium) defeated Caroline Wozniacki.
  • Men’s singles- Argentina’s Juan Martin del Potro defeated Roger Federer.
  • Men’s Doubles- Laender Paes (India) and Lukas Dlouhy defeated Mahesh Bhupathi & Mark Knowles. This is Paes 10th Grand Slam title.
  • Women’s Doubles – Venus Williams & Serena Williams defeated Cara Black & Ticzel Huber.
  • Mixed double – Carly Gullickson and Travis Parrott defeated Cara Black & Laender Paes(India).


Popular posts from this blog



13.0 Learning Outcome

13.1 Introduction

13.2 Initiatives towards Constitutional Status to Local Governance

13.2.1 Features of 73rd Constitutional Amendment

13.2.2 Features of 74th Constitutional Amendment

13.2.3 Decentralised Planning in Context of 73rd and 74th Constitutional Amendment Act

13.3 Initiatives after Economic Reforms

13.4 Functioning of PRIs in Various States after 73rd Amendment

13.5 Functioning of Local Governance after 73rd and 74th Constitutional Amendment: Observations

13.6 Conclusion

13.7 Key Concepts

13.8 References and Further Reading

13.9 Activities


After studying this Unit you should be able to:

• Identify the background of revitalisation of local governance;

• Understand the features of 73rd and 74th constitutional amendment;

• Discuss the initiatives after economic reforms; and

• Outlines the functioning of local governance in various states after the amendment.


The revitalization of Pancha…

General Studies :: Indian Polity #1

Constitutional evolution under British ruleRegulating Act 1773beginning of British parliamentary control over the East India Companysubordination of the presidencies of Bombay and Madras to BengalGovernor of Bengal made Governal-Generalcouncil of Governor-General establishedSupreme Court established in CalcuttaPitt’s India Act 1784commercial and political activities of the Company separatedestablished a board of control over the CompanyCharter Act 1813trade monopoly of the Company abolishedmissionaries allowed to preach in IndiaCharter Act 1833Governor-General of Bengal becomes Governor-General of Indiafirst Governor-General Lord William Bentickends commercial activities of the CompanyCharter Act 1853legislative and executive functions of the Governor-General’s council separatedopen competition for Indian Civil Services establishedIndian Council Act 1861establishes legislative councils at the centre, presidencies and provincesGovernor-General’s executive council to have Indians as non…



1.0 Learning outcome

1.1 Introduction

1.2 Concept of Democratic Decentralisation

1.3 Evolution of Democratic Decentralisation

1.4 Significance of Democratic Decentralisation

1.5 Democratic Decentralisation in India

1.6 Conclusion

1.7 Key concepts

1.8 References and Further Reading

1.9 Activities


After studying this unit, you should be able to:

• Understand the concept of Democratic Decentralization;

• Know the evolution and significance of Democratic Decentralization; and

• Describe the Democratic Decentralization pattern in India.


The dawn of 21st century is marked by decentralized governance both as a strategy and philosophy of brining about reforms and changes in democracies. These changes led to such virtues of transparency, responsiveness and accountability and ensures good governance. Today decentralization and democracy are the most significant themes in the development discourse. In the present contex…