my ad unit

Monday, February 15, 2010

Gk and current affairs feb 2010

  1. The number of persons who have been honoured with Padma Vibhushan--the second highest civilian honour of the country are : Six
    Ebrahim Alkazi, Umayalpuram K. Sivaraman, Zohra Segal (all three for art) Y. V. Reddy (Public Affairs) Dr. Venkatraman Ramakrishnan (Science & Engineering) and Prathap Reddy (Trade & Industry) have been honoured with Padma Vibhushan--the country's second highest civilian award.
  2. The new Chief of Army Staff is :V. K. Singh
    Lieutenant General V. K. Singh has been appointed as the new Chief of Army Staff. He is the senior most Infantry officer currently heading the Eastern Army Command. He will take over on March 31, 2010.
  3. Recently new governors have been appointed for ; Eight States  Shivraj Patil (Punjab), K. Sankaranarayanan (Maharashtra), E. S. L. Narasimhan (Andhra Pradesh) and M. O.H. Farook (Jharkhand), Prabha Rao (Rajasthan), M. K. Narayanan (West Bengal), Shekhar Dutt (Chhattisgarh), and Urmila Ben (Himachal Pradesh) have recently been appointed new governors of states.
  4.  The Indian state which recently signed three agreements with World Bank is: Andhra Pradesh
    The Andhra Pradesh government signed three agreements with the World Bank on January 22, 2010 to receive loan assistance of Rs. 3,720 crore to fund three projects to develop roads. 
  5. India proposes to sign CECA with : Malaysia
    A Malaysia-India Comprehensive Economic Cooperation Agreement (CECA) is scheduled to be signed by the end of the year aiming at true potential of trade relationship. 
  6. ISRO recently successfully tested : S-200
    The Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) successfully tested on ground on January 24, 2010 at Sriharikota its biggest and most powerful rocket motor called S-200 powered by 200 tonnes of solid propellants  
  7. The new NSA is : Shiv Shankar Menon
    The Government of India appointed Shiv Shankar Menon as the new National Security Advisor replacing M. K. Narayanan who has been appointed governor of West Bengal.
  8. The 2008 Dada Saheb Phalke Award has been given to:  V. K. Murthy Legendary cinematographer
    V. K. Murthy has been selected for the 2008 Dada Saheb Phalke Award. He is best remembered for his long association with all of Guru Dutt's films.
  9. The Best Actor and Best Actress at the 56th National Film Awards are  Priyanka Chopra and Upendra Limaye
    Priyanka Chopra and Upendra Limaye bagged the Best female and Best male actor awards at the 56th National Film Awards for 2008 announced on January 23, 2010.
  10. The Best feature film chosen at the 56th National Film Awards is : Antaheen
    Bengali film Antaheen has been selected as the best feature film at the 56th National Film Awards for 2008 and it also won awards in three other categories.
  11. The Criminal Procedure Code (Amendment) Act 2008 came into effect in : January 2010
    The Criminal Procedure Code (Amendment) Act 2008 which provides for sweeping changes in the criminal justice delivery system has come into effect. The Act got the President's assent in January 2009 but was kept in abeyance for about a year.
  12. The Lokmanya Tilak Award has been conferred on : N. Ram
    The Lokmanya Tilak National Journalism Award was conferred on the Editor-in-Chief of the Hindu on the 129th foundation day of the Kesari newspaper started by Lokmanya Tilak in 1881.
  13. The National Volleyball Championship (Men's title) was recently won by ;Tamil Nadu
    Tamil Nadu won the men's title of the 58th National Volleyball Championship in Gwalior on January 6, 2010 with Railways taking the women's title in the same competition.
  14. The important film festival held in January 2010 in Pune was    The Pune International Film Festival
    The eighth Pune International Film Festival (PIFF) was held in Pune in January 2010 and was inaugurated by Dev Anand on January 7, 2010.
  15. The NRI Lifetime Achievement Award has been bagged by    Dr. Lenny Saith
    The NRI Lifetime Achievement Award 2010 went to Dr. Lenny Saith who is the Minister in the office of the Prime Minister in Trinidad and Tobago. The award was conferred on him on January 10, 2010.
  16. This year the awards for Most Promising overseas Indian Male and Most Promising Overseas Indian Female have been received by    J. R. Ramasamy and Nishma Gosrani respectively
    M. Nishma Gosrani from the U. K. and Ms Jean Regis Ramasamy from Re Union Islands received NRI Empire Awards for being the Most Promising Overseas Indian Female and Most Promising Overseas Indian Male respectively 
  17. The winner of B. C. Roy Trophy is    Karnataka
    Karnataka beat Orissa to clinch B. C. Roy Trophy (Football) on January 10, 2010 in Mandya.
  18. Recently Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh launched   Solar India
    Prime Minister Dr. Manmohan Singh launched the Jawaharlal Nehru National Solar Mission or Solar India on January 11, 2010 which aims at creating an installed capacity of 20,000 Megawatt by the end of the 13th Five Year Plan, that is, by 2022.
  19. India recently successfully test fired  Two Astra Missiles
    India successfully carried out two ballistic flight tests of Astra-Beyond Visual-Range-Air to Air Missile (BVRAAM) from the Integrated Test Range (ITR) at Balasore Orissa on January 11, 2010.


No comments:

Post a Comment