Skip to main content

Medieval India

Medieval India

The Rajput period was an era of chivalry and feudalism. The Rajputs weakened each other by constant fighting. This allowed the foreigners (Turks) to embark on victorious campaigns using duplicity and deceit wherever military strength failed against Rajputs.

Mohammad Ghori defeated Prithviraj Chauhan, the Tomar ruler of Delhi, at the battle of Tarain in 1192 and left the Indian territories in the charge of his deputy, Qutubudin (reign - 1206 - 1210), who had started life as a slave. Khiljis, Tughlaqs, Sayyids and Lodis followed and this period is known as the Sultanate. When the power of the Sultans declined, the outlying provinces once again became important and the process of Hindu Islamic synthesis continued almost without any interruption.

Babur (reign - 1526-30), the founder of the Mughal Empire in India, was the descendant of Timur as well as Changez Khan. Ousted by his cousins, he came to India and defeated Ibrahim, the last Lodi Sultan in 1526 at the First Battle of Panipat. There was a brief interruption to Mughal rule when Babur's son Humayun (reign - 1530-40) was ousted from Delhi, by Sher Shah, an Afghan chieftain.

Sher Shah (reign - 1540-55), assumed power in the imperial capital for a short while. He is remembered as the builder of the Grand Trunk road that spanned the distance from Peshawar to Patna and also one who introduced major reforms in the revenue system, gratefully retained by the Mughals.

It was Babur's grandson Akbar (reign - 1556-1605), who consolidated political power and extended his empire over practically the whole of north India and parts of the south. Jahangir (reign - 1605-27) who succeeded Akbar was a pleasure loving man of refined taste. Shah Jahan (1628-58) his son, ascended the throne next. Shah Jahan's fame rests on the majestic buildings he has left behind - the Taj Mahal, the Red Fort and the Jama Masjid. Aurangzeb (reign - 1658-1707) was the last Mughal ruler.

In western India, Shivaji (1637-80) had forged the Marathas into an efficient military machine and given them a sense of national identity. They adopted guerrilla tactics to maul the Mughals and put a severe drain on their economic resources.

The contenders for political supremacy in the 17th and 18th Centuries included besides the Marathas, the Sikhs in Punjab and Hyder Ali (reign - 1721 - 1782) in Mysore. Tipu Sultan (reign - 1782 - 1799) - Hyder Ali's son and successor allied himself with the French against the British and strove to introduce the latest technical knowledge from Europe.


       HISTORY INDIA : India's History : Timeline of India     

  1026 - Ghazni sacks Somnath Temple

  1191 - First Battle of Tarain

  1192 - Second Battle of Tarain

  1206 - Qutbuddin establishes the Slave Dynasty

  1221 - Mongol invasion under Genghis Khan

  1232 - Foundation of the Qutub Minar

  1288 - Marco Polo visits India

  1290 - Jalaludin Firuz Khalji establishes the Khalji dynasty

  1320 - Ghiyasuddin Tughluk founds the Tughluk dynasty

  1325 - Accession of Muhammad-bin-Tughluk

  1336 - Foundation of Vijayanagar (Deccan)

  1398 - Timur invades India

  1424 - Rise of the Bahmani dynasty (Deccan)

  1451 - The Lodi dynasty established in Delhi

  1469 - Birth of Guru Nanak - The Founder of Sikhism

  1489 - Adil Shah dynasty at Bijapur

  1498 - First voyage of Vasco da gama

  1510 - Portuguese capture Goa

  1526 - Establishment of the Mughul Dynasty; First Battle of Panipat

  1526-1530 - Reign of Babur

  1530 - Humayun succeeds Babur

  1539 - Sher Shah Suri defeats Humayan

  1555 - Humayun recovers the throne of Delhi

  1556 - Accession of Akbar

  1565 - Battle of Talikota

  1568 - Fall of Chittor Garh

  1576 - Battle of Haldighati

  1577 - Akbar troops invade Khandesh

  1597 - Akbar completes his conquests

  1600 - Charter to the English East India Company

  1605 - Jahangir

  1609 - The Dutch open a factory at Pulicat

  1615 - Submission of Mewar to the Mughals

  1620 - Capture of Kangra Fort

  1623 - Shah Jahan revolts against Jahangir

  1628 - Shah Jahan proclaimed Emperor

  1636 - Aurangzeb appointed Viceroy of Deccan

  1646 - Shivaji captures Torna

  1658 - Coronation of Aurangzeb

  1666 - Death of Shah Jahan

  1689 - Execution of Sambhaji

  1700 - Death of Rajaram

  1707 - Death of Aurangzeb

  1720 - Accession of Baji Rao Peshwa at Poona

  1742 - Marathas invade Bengal

  1748 - First Anglo-French war

  1750 - War of the Deccan; Death of Nasir Jang

  1756 - Siraj-ud-daulah captures Calcutta
Attached: Medieval India
Message from
Google Docs makes it easy to create, store and share online documents, spreadsheets and presentations.
Google Docs logo


Popular posts from this blog



13.0 Learning Outcome

13.1 Introduction

13.2 Initiatives towards Constitutional Status to Local Governance

13.2.1 Features of 73rd Constitutional Amendment

13.2.2 Features of 74th Constitutional Amendment

13.2.3 Decentralised Planning in Context of 73rd and 74th Constitutional Amendment Act

13.3 Initiatives after Economic Reforms

13.4 Functioning of PRIs in Various States after 73rd Amendment

13.5 Functioning of Local Governance after 73rd and 74th Constitutional Amendment: Observations

13.6 Conclusion

13.7 Key Concepts

13.8 References and Further Reading

13.9 Activities


After studying this Unit you should be able to:

• Identify the background of revitalisation of local governance;

• Understand the features of 73rd and 74th constitutional amendment;

• Discuss the initiatives after economic reforms; and

• Outlines the functioning of local governance in various states after the amendment.


The revitalization of Pancha…

Q. What is the meaning of the terms like ‘Pardon’, ‘Reprieve’, ‘Respite’, ‘Remission’ and ‘Commutation’ with respect to the power of the President to grant pardon to convicted persons?

Ans. In terms of their scope and effect, these terms have specific connotations. The effect of Pardon is to abolish punishment and to absolve the convict of all charges. If Pardon is granted, it is assured as if the convict has not committed any crime. The convict will not face any disabilities due to the allegations and charges made against him. ‘Remission’ means reducing the punishment without changing the nature of punishment. For example, the imprisonment for 20 years may be reduced to the imprisonment for 10 years. ‘Commutation’ means reducing the punishment by changing the nature of punishment. For example, punishment to death may be changed to life imprisonment. ‘Respite’ means reducing or changing the nature of punishment in view of the specific facts and circumstances of the convict. For example, the punishment to death awarded to a pregnant woman, may be changed to simple life imprisonment. Respite means delay in execution of punishment especially that of death, in order to …

General Studies :: Indian Polity #1

Constitutional evolution under British ruleRegulating Act 1773beginning of British parliamentary control over the East India Companysubordination of the presidencies of Bombay and Madras to BengalGovernor of Bengal made Governal-Generalcouncil of Governor-General establishedSupreme Court established in CalcuttaPitt’s India Act 1784commercial and political activities of the Company separatedestablished a board of control over the CompanyCharter Act 1813trade monopoly of the Company abolishedmissionaries allowed to preach in IndiaCharter Act 1833Governor-General of Bengal becomes Governor-General of Indiafirst Governor-General Lord William Bentickends commercial activities of the CompanyCharter Act 1853legislative and executive functions of the Governor-General’s council separatedopen competition for Indian Civil Services establishedIndian Council Act 1861establishes legislative councils at the centre, presidencies and provincesGovernor-General’s executive council to have Indians as non…